on 1Q84

I picked up 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami over a year ago at the suggestion of one of my followers. I started strong, a bit underwhelmed, critical and disappointed in the style and narrative choices. When I reached the chapter where Anoname is going to kill the Leader, I put the book down, disappointed in the direction it was taking.

Eight months later, my son gave me a copy of the novel, having finished it himself. I don’t read paper books anymore but having it on my shelf tempted me to give the remainder a shot. The first few pages of my return proved I had been completely wrong about the direction and my interest was rekindled.

Today I finished the novel. Every criticism I had has been forgiven. 1Q84 is a masterpiece. I love the structure and style and poetics. I applaud the beauty and the quirky negative space. My opinion of Murakami is transformed. What a great writer.

enjoy

Malinov

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in book review, books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

