Silver – stanza 28.3

I raced after Courlain, to grab hold of him
Keep him from harming himself; I knew he
Was making his play for Silver the best he
Knew how, the usual way for our kind
But I wanted to talk, to sit down with
Silver and Tasha and Courlain and make
A new kind of plan, to consciously choose
A course of action that would benefit
All of us, so we didn’t spend the next
Thousand years trading bodies and lives
To maneuver and escape, love and lose
So when he grabbed the rope and climbed
I took hold of the rope and went up after
Him, with no plan in mind but to lay
Hands on him, shake some sense into him
When he reached the platform, I felt some
Relief, for on that stage I hoped I could
Take hold of him, talk to him, talk some
Sense into him, so I climbed harder, knowing
He had no other escape but to jump off
I thought so, but Courlain had other ideas
And he leapt, a terrifying leap away
From the platform, clutching at another
Rope that went to the very high roof
I soon reached the platform and looked
To see Courlain struggling to raise himself
Weary hand after weary hand, with a sigh
I readied myself to make the outrageous
Leap when I heard my name, turned and fell

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

