Silver – stanza 22.3

“What about the twenty-third?”
“What is that, Sunday?”
“I think so, yes.”
“Let me see, here, Sunday, no, the Gala is Sunday.”
“The Gala?”
“Ballet. It’s a special event, not on the calendar.”
“I was going to say, I hadn’t heard.”
“It’s been hastily arranged. I don’t even know
Where I heard about it but you know James
Any excuse to wear a tuxedo.”
“Who’s dancing?”
“They’ve invited dancers from lots of companies
But really, no big names.”
“That seems a strange choice.”
“That’s only the beginning. The headline
Is some local girl, no one has ever heard
Of her.”
“The producer’s girlfriend?”
“That’s what I thought too. But I know
Elise at the studio she came from. So
I know people who know her and they
Don’t think there is any hanky-panky
The weird part is that some of the say
She is a terrible dancer, at least no where
Near good enough to headline a big show
While others assure me that she is divine
That they’ve never seen a better dancer.”
“Maybe she’s gotten over a hurdle.”
“Makes sense except she’s far too old.”

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

