Silver – stanza 19.3

“We’re arranging a show, a ballet Gala
Four months from now in the capital
We want you to headline, dance a gran
Pas de deux with a ballerina we discovered”
My comprehension halted at the word “headline”
All I could do was nod, positive but lost
What was he saying, what did he mean?
A thousand questions assaulted my mind
In a jumble of wonder, when do we leave?
How much does it pay? What would I dance?
Where would I stay? Did he really mean me?
Over the next hour, he explained the score
As I managed to ask my questions
Looking back, I realize the one thing
I never questioned was whether to go
Along with the scheme, sold at “headline”
And bolstered by my supreme confidence
In myself, why wouldn’t they want me?
So I rushed in where wise men might not
The other question I didn’t pursue was
Allison, who was she and what had she done?
Come to think of it, I did ask him something
About her; he told me that she was his reason
For producing the show, without her, no show
So I made arrangements with my company
Who were preparing for a long break anyway
Packed my bags, grabbed my passport
Met in the lobby by a big limousine sent by
Courlain and flew a private jet to the States

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

