Silver – stanza 18.3

“Give me a beat,” said Marx, almost singing
Smiling and nodding as he showed them their
Seats, “Let’s groove, Daddy O” with a melodic
Insistence; Malinov greeted, Razor greeted
And Black Marx passed them a joint ritually
“Not your surface grade weed, true underground
The kind only music can buy, Tympanic Vibes”
We participated in the smoky ceremony and
Songs of thanks and praise and I asked him
About Silver, had he seen her or heard her around
He cast his gaze vacantly for a few beats
“No, haven’t seen her, haven’t seen her”
He stared away again, muttering and I
Suspected he was busily writing a new song
“Not here, not this side, not since Naples, I’d
Gone to Vienna, saw her there, singing opera
Is that right? We ran into each other in Italy
I was doing magic with the violin, remember?
I miss those days, I really do, when music
Remained a local phenomenon, we played
Or we heard nothing, everyone joined
I saw Courlain recently, four months ago
Came in late, caught a show, pretended he wasn’t
But I know his rhythms, the unique beat of his
Life, like I know my own heart, I know your
Sound, but I played along, ignored Courlain
And I saw Tasha not long after that but
She didn’t pretend, she was looking for me
And I dig the way that woman can move”

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

