Silver – stanza 8.3

Right here, look at this, Malinov dates his
Entry by reference to the Mardi Gras as being
Three days after his visit to see Black Marx
Which I remember as clearly as any memory
The strange trail that led us to the underground
Club where Marx and his minions performed
At first, these passages sounded familiar
Like some old forgotten movie I’d seen
But as I go, my role in these scenes
Changes from observer to central participant
As though I was Malinov and I was there
But Mardi Gras is Carnival and I was in Rio
That weekend, I had a performance on Saturday
Night and after the show, I went to dinner
With a few other dancers and some local
Bigwigs, we were out until two and then
I went back to my hotel, got up later than
I like, forcing me to rush my routines
Getting ready for the afternoon matinee
So I was not at a club in Baltimore that
Night, at no point in time could I be
Because I have never been to Maryland
Even to this day, all my business has
Been in Arlington and Falls Church with
The occasional foray into D.C. proper
So why do I remember the visit to the
Club so clearly? This is really weird
Even now, I feel like I’m being told to relax
But I don’t think I’m the one talking

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

