Silver – stanza 6.3

“There are people who live forever, although
Not in the conventional way but by passing
From one life to the next, possessing vessels
Living their life through until they die and
Pass into the next vessel – no one understands
It, even proving it happens, no studies have
Been made of us. Silver says it is our will
To live that allows us to persist this way
And if anyone would know, it is her domain”
“I don’t believe you,” I said, “if I’m being
Honest, that sounds completely ridiculous”
“I know, I know it does; you aren’t the
First person to say so, not the first by far
Even so, it is the case, I assure you, and what’s
More, you have witnessed up close an encounter
Between immortals, played the lead role
In some ways; if you would indulge me
We are in a unique situation, the most
Perfectly documented episode in our history
It would only be improved if I had Courlain’s
Side of the story, or yours, you haven’t by
Chance kept a diary these last six months?”
“No sir,” I said, “not really my style.”
“Understood if you happen to feel inclined
To write memoirs, I would appreciate it.”
I responded weakly with a nod, fully
Believing it unlikely that I would ever write
“This is the story and background
Of your last six months. Please read them.”

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

