Silver – stanza 5.3

Since the night of the performance, not before
Everyone here has been calling Allison Silver
And stranger yet, Allison answers to the name
More readily, at ease even, than when I call
Her by the name I and everyone else does
Odd enough, but people often go by pet names
Especially among a familiar crowd, the Tiger
Some have called me, a few intimate friends
But this journal labelled Silver in Razor’s hand
Is Allison’s journal – on the third page, she refers
To herself as Allison, that was actually my
First clue that Allison is Silver, I skimmed
Ahead to make sure I wasn’t just confused
In the beginning, she is Allison and by the end
She calls herself Silver, no explanation
Now over the year covered by her diary
She goes from being a modest, mediocre
Poorly trained, moderately dedicated
Mostly unambitious company dancer
And just in the first twenty pages, as though
A light went on inside her head, she changes
Not as a person, not that I would notice
Since I didn’t know and wouldn’t have known her
But as a dancer, her words become focused
Into the mindset of a skilled, experienced
Dancer – I’m no expert on language or
Psychology but I know the voice of a real
Ballet dancer – Allison was barely one
But Silver, whoever she is, is a ballerina

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

