Silver – stanza 26.2

“Oh my God,” said Silver, “He’s Courlain.”
“Who?” asked Malinov, “Brandon?”
“I didn’t see it right away. He thinks he’s
Being clever, disguising himself stylistically.”
“Does he know?”
“What?”
“Does he know you recognized him?”
Silver laughed. “Not a chance.”
“How do you know?”
“He’s too busy being pleased with himself.”
“Why is he here?”
“Revenge, I’m sure. That’s how he thinks.”
“It’s been more than a hundred years.”
“Nothing to a man like Randolph.”
“So what do we do?”
“You just carry on as usual. I’ll take care of him.”
“I almost feel sorry for him.”
Silver laughed. “Don’t bother.”
“You haven’t told me very much about him.”
“No, I haven’t.”
Malinov waited, letting the pause plead for him
Silver paid him no mind. She rarely deigned
To tell him about her past, about the rest
Of the immortals, looking hard past him
“Nothing is ever simple,” she said sadly
“I’ll send him on a goose chase, get him.
Away and distracted. I wonder if Tasha
Is here too, somewhere nearby watching
I’d better find Razor, he’ll know more.”

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

