Silver – stanza 19.2

I first met Courlain about six months ago
I received a note, then a call, then I met
Him in the lobby of our hotel and we adjourned
To the bar for a drink and business discussion
He began by complimenting my performance
The night before, in terms that made it clear
He was not a mere fan boy, no balletomane
But a dancer and one familiar with center stage
Although I had never heard of him, not ever
He told me about his plan to host a Gala
In the heart of the U.S. east coast, a show
Seemingly designed to showcase me, specifically
As though I was the new thing in the dance world
A talent everyone needed to see, I was flattered
Who wouldn’t be and eagerly accepted, perhaps
Prematurely before negotiations even started
But I wanted this show to happen and truly
Everything I could have wanted was given
In double portions, Courlain, far from cheating
Me was rather embarrassingly generous
The only stipulation he made, insisted upon
Was Allison – completely unknown, never
A principal – this nobody from a small local
Company would be my ballerina, equal
In spotlight and while word at the barre
Was that she was surprisingly good
I had to pause at the idea that my future
Would depend on the skills of an unknown
But pride encouraged me and I committed

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

