Silver – stanza 12.2

“Am I early?”
“Early?”
“For the poetry reading.”
She looked at her watch.
“Nope. Right on time.”
“Oh.”
“No one ever comes to these,” she said, “Unless
You bring your own. Not as smart a crowd
As the décor would suggest.”
“I see.”
“But wait around. It’s still early for the
Drinking crowd.”
“Sure. Thanks.”
“I write, too,” she said.
“Do you?”
“Sometimes. I like to write things down.”
“I know what you mean.”
“But I don’t know if it’s good. I feel like
I’d have to know more about writing to know
If it was good.”
“I don’t think knowing really helps. It comes
Down to an honest voice. Everyone knows one
When they read one and no one can explain
What makes it work.”
“Interesting.”
“Put it out there, see if people respond
That’s the only way to truly judge writing.”
“You make it sound easy.”
“It is not.”

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

