Silver – stanza 19

A local impresario put together a show
Inviting ballet talent from some of the best
Companies in the world, not the best dancers
As such but dancers who worked alongside
The best were lined up for a gala performance
Given the international nature of the talent
Everyone was stunned when he invited Allison
To dance a pas de deux with me, and I mean
Everyone, me and her and the community
It was a bit of a reach for me, having
Only a few serious roles in my past
But I was up and coming and suitable to the role
Allison, on the other hand, was wowing
People with technique of a level rarely seen
But she’d never danced anything close to this
Hadn’t even danced understudy to a part
Smaller than quarte; this seemed madness
But Courlain – see, I’ve recognized him
Insisted it would be Allison and me
Or no one at all, as though he staged
The whole show to push us together
He brought me to town with the finest
Accommodations, met with the choreographer
Brought from the depths of a classical Russia
Began working the new steps, transforming
What was a fairly basic dramatic outline
Into a highly sophisticated series designed
Perfectly for us, Allison and I, as dancers
And I watched her grow better before my eyes

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in books, fiction, literature, novels, personal, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

