Dog Toy

by Lord Malinov

~~~

“Can I help you?”

“No thanks, I’m just looking.”

“Sure. Let me know if you need any help.”

“Wait, you know what, I do have a question.”

“Shoot.”

“My girlfriend, well, this woman I’m dating has a dog. ”

“Cool.”

“I know. The dog really likes me, you know how dogs are, probably more than Elisa does.”

“Hmm.”

“Her dog goes crazy when I come over, jumping up to kiss me, just goes wild.”

“Aww, that’s sweet.”

“I know. It’s really cute.”

“What kind of dog?”

“I don’t know. Medium sized. White and brown. Really cute.”

“So what’s the plan?”

“I was thinking I could score some points with Elisa by getting the dog some kind of present.”

“Ah, the oblique approach.”

“But what can I buy for a dog that sends the right message?”

“Well, what’s the message, exactly?”

“I don’t know, really. I think the real message, the obvious one should be that I like her dog.”

“But there’s another message, under the surface?”

“Exactly. I want Elisa to like me.”

“You don’t think she likes you?”

“No, I mean, I don’t know. She seems to. I guess she does.”

“She invites you over to meet her dog.”

“Yeah, twice.”

“And her dog likes you. That’s goes a long way with dog people.”

“Sure, I guess so. He’s a really sweet dog.”

“You know what? Toys and chews and stuff are quickly forgotten. What about a leash or a collar?”

“That might be good.”

“Probably not a sweater.”

“No, he’s got lots of hair.”

“They’re over here.”

“You know, his collar is kind of beaten up. Maybe something like this would work.”

“It’s beautiful. Get a large.”

“I think she’ll like it. I really like her.”

~~~

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in fiction, literature, personal, short stories, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

