Sensitive

I am very sensitive to emotions. I don’t mean that I collapse at every breeze of emotion, quite the contrary. I mean that when I enter a room, I am fully and quickly cognizant of the emotional state of everyone around me. I can’t block the knowledge. The most I can do is not care.

But mostly I do care, especially when anyone gives me cause. As such, my first instinct is always to mediate and uplift emotions. I try, using subtle verbal and non-verbal expressions, to calm people, to pacify them, to defuse them. With the same techniques I routinely attempt to make people feel better, about themselves, about their situation, about life in general. And, for the most part, I am very good at it. Around me breathes a cloud of positivity and relaxation.

Except that, with my presence, my looks, my words and reputation, I tend to frighten, excite and even intimidate people. So there is always a cross-current of emotion that I cannot control because it exists because of my presence. For this reason, usually the best approach I have toward people is simply to let them be, to avoid creating emotional turmoil by subtracting myself from the scene.

About Lord Malinov

Lord Malinov, literary author, bon vivant, rogue romantic poet
This entry was posted in personal, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sensitive

  1. writings says:

    Well written! Is it personal or fictional? The contrast between paragraph two and three is interesting 🙂

    • Lord Malinov says:

      This is personal – I had to attend a three day meeting and, curious as to why social interactions exhaust me, I took note of my instinctive reactions to various encounters

      • writings says:

        I see! But wouldn’t the exhaustion more be the negative emotions and stress you absorb from others – rather than the ones you might yourself send out? I would just guess that people would love a sensitive person who is trying to mediate and uplift their moods and create positive emotions!
        Just being interested as the first part in the post crashed a bit with the last part for me 🙂
        Also, wouldn’t not trying to make folks happy conflict with your instincts? In some ways implying that entering a room with negative, stressed, sad, aggressive people is already “game over” from the outset. Which I guess – is quite normal 🙂

Leave a Reply

